Fits and Starts, One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

I have to admit, that I’ve never been one of those people who completes a task. I didn’t even carry Amelia to term–she was born six weeks early.

My “tasks” are fluid, akin to resolutions, I suppose. They’re not as simple as taking out the trash, cleaning my car, doing the laundry, or cleaning the litterbox for the billionth time. Even those I never do completely–there’s always MORE trash, more crap in my car (two moves are now represented in my trunk which I have since covered with a fabric shower curtain, also left in my trunk, I think from that first move) laundry in heaps that get ignored for months. (I have to say, however, that watching the occasional episode of “Hoarders” makes me feel MUCH better about myself and always inspires me to clean my kitchen.)

So my resolutions, my goals, get carried over from year to year, as I’m sure many of you can relate to all too well. In consulting Wikipedia, I pretty much have all of the Seven Deadly Sins covered and others that have appeared to have been left out (mostly involving credit card debt, the accumulation of more beauty products than one human being could use in a lifetime, and rushing into cetain heartache. If in Biblical times there were low-rate, introductory credit card offers, Sephora and match.com, these surely would have been factored in somehow.)

On my resolution list from a couple of years ago I have something that says “Bad Choices” (as in, stop making them.) Kind of vague. This undoubtedly covers many things though, certainly matters of the heart. I do think I’ve done a MUCH better job at shielding my heart, enacting preemptive strikes instead of a S-L-O-W crawl to certain disappointment. So, yay for me. Maybe I can have a 6-month review this year and see if I can cross that off my list and my “bad choices” will be more about junk food and the occasional shot of tequila.

Leave a Reply

